Fibro Fog (insert James bond voice).  – probably the worst thing about this phenomenon is that you don’t always know it’s happening when it is.  And you have to pay attention to the clues, which is difficult since you’re in a fog.

It’s almost like wearing a fishbowl on your head.  And your senses are dulled.  And you forget what you’re doing more than usual.  And things that should be natural to you, get foreign.  One example might be driving to a location you’ve driven to hundreds of time.  You know the way.  You’re perfectly aware of where it is and how to get there, but when the fog is bad, you get lost.  Suddenly you don’t know how to get there.  Oh, you still basically know where it is, but if the exhaustion is really bad and the fog sets in, you can seriously get lost going someplace you know

And, no, it’s not alzheimers.  It’s the fog.  Any fibromite will recognize the symptoms.  I get clumsy.  I can’t do math very well, and math for me has always been a pretty easy thing.  My ability to think goes out the window.  I dare not pay any bills because I might come back to find that I’ve totally fucked up my budget.

But, knowing this happens helps.  If you know that you start to run into walls during the fog, when you do this it’s a clue that you’re there.  Seriously, this happens.  You have no clue you’re suffering from fibro fog while you’re in it unless you start to put together these clues.

So, if I nearly cut my finger with a knife or trip over an invisible something…I know.  Slow down, pay attention, get some rest and don’t do anything that requires higher brain functions.

Once the fog passes, I can see all the things I couldn’t in the fog.  I’ll find my math mistakes.  I’ll realize that I paid the wrong thing.  I’ll see the jumble of words I wrote down that I can’t decipher.

You learn to cope.  You learn to rest.  Well, you try to rest.  It comes down to learning some real self care.  You either work with it or it takes you down.  There is no fighting it.  So we get smart and we alter what we do in order to cope.  Then we take some time to appreciate all that we do have and that some of the things we wanted to get done don’t need doing.

A blessing in disguise?  Most would say “no” but I tend to view it that way.  I would never sit still that long if I didn’t have to.  So, in spite of this body giving me grief, it also tunes me into some of the more precious moments of life.

